MY LIST OF “GLIMPSES OF HOPE”

“Somewhere within us all, there does exist a supreme self who is eternally at peace”.

-Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat Pray Love.

I had never, in my dreams, thought of penning down this experience of my life. But you know how God surprises you with those precious opportunities you never thought you could get? So I hope people will be kind and patient while reading this chapter of my life.

Glimpses of hope – this topic of Candles Online drives me back to the lane of my life where I was accompanied with a beloved friend of mine called “Depression”. I am sure every person reading this article has had a friend similar to mine, which proves that I am no extraordinary rather a normal person like all of you.

I do not remember the exact date but I can freshly remember the exact feeling. It was a Friday night, I was home alone, sitting on the floor of my bedroom and weeping unconditionally. Feet turned cold, wet cheeks, trembling hands and rapid thoughts crossing my mind leaving me numb on the floor. I heard a voice inside my head, asking me, “What makes you cry?” to which, “I have no clue” was my answer. Soon after that I patted my eyes and pressed them as hard as I could to stop my tears. I wanted to stop crying, but all my efforts went in vain. The worst kind of sadness in the one which cannot be explained!

The worst part of this phase was that I couldn’t do any Root Cause Analysis of the situation. Because everything in my life was running quite smoothly. Good grades, strong friendship, love of my Parents, I had it all. But my beloved friend “depression” made my condition worse day by day. Sleep just wasn’t sleep anymore. It became an escape place for me. It was strange how I could totally be a normal person in the crowd but would end up cold and numb on the floor once I would be home alone.

I wanted to talk about it, I wanted to yell and scream, but all I could do was weep alone and tell myself that one day, everything’s going to be just fine. I remember hugging myself and mumbling “you are not alone”.

Finally, unable to handle it alone, I conveyed about this relationship with beloved depression to my father. I call it my beloved friend, because depression has taught me many life lessons just like a true friend does. I was surprised to know that he had the same experience too. Though he did not end up weeping on the floor like me, but his emotions matched mine. That is when he told me, “beta, we are humans, and we break down sometimes which is completely normal.” I am fortunate to have such an understanding father. He even explained that only physical illness does not require treatment, but assistance is required even when our mind gets sick. He was ready to find a counselor for me too, though it wasn’t required later on. May God bless every child with a father like mine!

He further reminded me that whenever you feel you are in unbearable pain, think about people who are not as fortunate as you. Think about the soldiers in our border, think about their family, which lives in the hope of meeting them soon, either alive, or with their body wrapped up in our Tricolour Flag. Think about them and absorb some strength from their courageous heart!

So from the very next moment, that is what I did. God has a beautiful way of giving you life lessons and the best part is, you don’t have to look so far, because your ‘Glimpses of Hope’ are somewhere around you, waiting for you to notice them.

hope-in-focus
‘Glimpses of Hope’ are somewhere around you

Firstly, I paid a close attention to the Man in my life who managed his family so well, kept his loved ones happy with all the strength in the world even after being physically impaired. No storm could stop him and he would always stand up as the Superhero of his family without the Superman’s cape! He became my first glimpse of hope.

Secondly, I saw the struggle of a girl, who was of my age and I addressed her as my sister, who supported her family and helped her father clear all his debts, by killing her dreams and working for her family instead. She would stand as the ‘Tiger’ of her family whenever required and shield them from all the troubles. She would smile and hug me with inspiration even after going through all the dark times alone. She became my second glimpse of hope.

Thirdly, I envied the strength of my friend who would keep her emotions intact, even after facing all the conspiracies of her own relatives against her family. I envied how firmly she would still trust and inspire people even after her faith had been played and broken by her own blood relations. Instantly she was added to my list of “Hope”.

Fourthly, I aspired to become like a friend of mine, who literally had been through hell and back, struggled through the taunting and discourteous behaviour of the society but still carried a ray of hope in her soul and faith of humanity in her heart. She still chose to express her smile to the world which once made her life miserable. She then became my ‘Glimpse of Hope’.

Lastly, I feel so fortunate to have read a book called “Eat Pray Love”, by Elizabeth Gilbert. This book brought me closer to God. It showed me a path of peace during the darkest tunnels of my life. This book created another Ray of Hope in my heart.

Though I have not written the names of people in the list of my “Glimpses of Hope” expressively in the article but I am pretty sure that they will recognise themselves while reading it. Lastly, I would like to thank all my readers for investing their precious time and reading this piece of writing. I believe that you will look around and find your ‘glimpses of hope’ soon, because the word H.O.P.E. itself says, Hold On Pain Ends!

Happy reading!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Hold onto your hope and faith, you are fortunate for sure to have brave people around you. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Payal! says:

      Thank you somuch Kalpana maam

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You have put into words what so many feel but don’t often say! Talking, like you and your father did, is so vital, I think, to managing depression! I am so grateful my mother was always open and honest about her struggles with it as I was growing up. I think the support you receive from strong people, who have struggles and perseverance of their own, is so amazing and shows you have optimisim. You are able to see other’s strengths and use that as a motivation for your healing. That is what makes it so important to tell stories like yours! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Payal! says:

      ma’am I am so glad that u read and liked my article. And it is very true that we are really blesses to have such strong people around us who inspire us in each and every path of our lives . Rather I would like to thank you for reading my article 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Chiradeep says:

    Payal, my dear friend! There’s a song which makes me so calm and quiet when I feel very lonely, sad and troubled… will share the song in WhatsApp but sharing the lyrics here:

    “What a friend we have in Jesus
    All our sins and griefs to bear
    And what a privilege to carry
    Everything to God in prayer

    Oh, what peace we often forfeit
    Oh, what needless pain we bear
    All because we do not carry
    Everything to God in prayer

    Have we trials and temptations?
    Is there trouble anywhere?
    We should never be discouraged
    Take it to the Lord in prayer

    Can we find a friend so faithful
    Who will all our sorrows share?
    Jesus knows our every weakness
    Take it to the Lord in prayer”

    This song has always been my strength and can do wonders at the time of trouble and depression.

    About the article… beautiful words, beautifully written and very well presented.

    Regards, CP

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Payal! says:

      Uncle
      Such beautiful lyrics. Kindly send me the song. And thank you somuch for ur constant support. My articles would have been nothing without Candles .

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Chiradeep says:

        You are part of it…. so enjoy it. Don’t say “without Candles” thing ever when you are one of it. God bless you.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Payal! says:

        Yes uncle! M very fortunate to have been a part of it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Loved it, Payal. I don’t know what to say because u could desire depression do very well.

    Like

  5. Aditya says:

    Take a bow! Hands down for an extraordinary article from an ordinary being!
    Guess what? You r added to my glimpse of Hope 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

