REGRET AS A LESSON

Regrets are often taken as something negative. Of course, when you regret something you feel extremely negative about the situation. But the fact that you regret a particular decision or situation is positive because you have accepted it and you are trying to move on from it. Regret is what comes out of strong introspection which is always a good thing. The question is how far are you willing to go to correct what has gone wrong? When you really take a decision to correct the situation, getting over the regret is easy.

When I started to think about writing this snippet, I was quite blank for some time and thinking hard made me realize that there is no strong regret that I feel currently. That doesn’t mean that I have never regretted anything in my life. I have had lots of regrets – I just chose to get over them with time. So, let me share one of the strongest decisions that I feel went bad.

I chose wrong people as friends and even when I realized that they are not the right people – I did not have the courage to give them up. I could not stand up for my own self esteem in front of them and I let them step all over me. There is nothing in my life that has made me feel so horrible ever. These people were my colleagues in my previous job and only a few months after I quit that job, did I realize what I was into was a complete disaster in the name of friendship. I felt cheated to the core. It was difficult to get over that regret. It haunted me for months and years; even now sometimes I feel horrible thinking what a fool I had been.

Well, what is done is done. I know where I made my mistake and what I need to take care of in future. I have moved on from who I was then to (I think) a much wiser person now. It gives me all the more strength when I think about that time. It makes me value my real friends all the more.  The whole episode made me a much stronger, emotionally independent and wiser person.

4 thoughts on “REGRET AS A LESSON

  1. Its true one can regret only when he is able to introspect. The situation mentioned in the post is one of the most common form of regret where we are involved in so called friendship and when we realize the real scenario we regret for getting involved into that. But this happens as we cannot come to know the person truly without having interaction with him…
    Its good that you are out of it now and is moving forward… all the best… 🙂

    Like

  2. Prabhjot, each of your words that you used to express your agony and pain keeping the platform in mind where it is getting published are well conveyed to the readers.

    My life had never allowed me to be pressed down by peers because all the time I was at home. I will talk about it later this week.

    Choosing the right kind of friends is very important in life. They can be your stepping stones… upwards or downwards in respect to work, emotions or moral aspects of our lives.

    But the best part is “Your Realization.” Which I mentioned in my yesterday’s snippet. Unless we change our ways… regrets don’t really help. You used your regrets which is negative, to bring a positive transformation in your life.

    Revisiting that part of your life, remembering the wounds and writing this awe-inspiring piece is gut-wrenching. God bless you and keep reflecting from your life…

    Like

  3. Wow…loved this! I am pleased to see yet another gifted writer for this wonderful webzine. 🙄 I’d say this group has been blessed.

    Like

Your valuable feedback please...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.