REPENTANCE IS THE CALL WHICH SAVES US FROM ALL OUR REGRETS

Looking back at my life I feel really frustrated, angry, sad and confused thinking if I would be given a chance to change some events of my life then I don’t know which one to change first to make my now better.

I have a list of regrets which really can’t be rectified. Nobody can change my past. And if I ask God then He will deny by saying, ‘I won’t change it even I can change everything.’

On Monday I wrote about regrets are being the unpleasant blockades which might ultimately help us for a better future when we take a turn from there. But when we ignore the penitence or regrets or sorrow or agony that we go through as a consequence of our choices then we suffer again in future.

The scripture says, “Since all have sinned and continually fall short of the glory of God.

Let me explain…

We all know we are created in the image of God. No other animals or living beings have conscience to think and decide. They don’t have the sense of right and wrong like a human being does. They don’t have that creativity and free will like human beings.

Human beings are creative like their maker and creator, God. Human beings have feelings to understand the hearts like the Creator. Human beings can love, have compassion and have emotions like their most loving and compassionate God.

Now that’s called to being created in His own image to have all His attributes or glory which we lose it when we commit sins whether we have regret about it or not. (God’s glory is much bigger than what I explained here; it’s just a small part of it what I mentioned.)

Now repentance is essential to start the restoration process. Repentance  for our wrong doings are the first step towards the restoration of our original image, our God given image.

Let’s get into some practical life examples of what we just got to know above.  

Couple of days ago, Prabhjot said that her decision of choosing certain friends was regrettable as it took her to the pit though she had overcome it already. Her friends became a problem and my ‘No friends’ became a problem for me.

Let me explain again…

“The true test of a man’s character is what he does when no one is watching.” ― John Wooden

It was tough test for me in which I failed utterly being alone at home all the time for my health conditions. I was enslaved with many addictions that took away my heart from the best things to the worst ones.

The worst ever thing happened to me when I landed here in Kolkata. I was introduced to the world of Yahoo Messenger and was glued to the computer screen of an internet cafe, hours for almost 3 years of my precious life. The most regrettable sin that I had committed in those three years was… I wasted my time, I wasted my money, I wasted my mind and I wasted the gifts God had given me. All were very precious for a person who stepped into a new place, a new job with a new set of inspirations. I laid a worst ever foundation of my work career. If I would not have wasted those precious jewels in my life then I would have gained lot more in life by now. I would have achieved more for the people and the purpose for which God had called me. I lost the best part of it.

Well, what is done is done and I have to take my regret as a lesson to be careful in future

But how?

The role of repentance begins here at this point of remorse and regret. Every choice of life we make comes with a cost. And that cost is paid through repentance. Repentance let me realize that if I make a mistake here, I might again be stuck with wrong decisions and continue to suffer. Repentance is something where I needed to take a U turn and change the directions completely. I needed to make this decision to honour God, my partner, my families and everybody around me or associated with me.

Instead of wallowing in the miry clay of negative regrets let’s turn back, repent and stay happy.

Stay Blessed!!!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. NGonzalez65 says:

    Beautifully put my friend. We all have regrets but hopefully we have learned from them and are a better person for it. God bless each of the writers who contributed to the topic this week. All have given me food for thought. Thank you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chiradeep says:

      Thanks Nilla. It’s so good to have you too. Thanks for the kind words… But yes I enjoyed this week so much.

      Like

  2. Hi,
    I feel repentance is for sin while regret is for mistakes. A wonderful read. Waiting for next week’s topic so that I could contribute as per my ability. Happy to be a part of this vast pool of talented people.

    Kalpana.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chiradeep says:

      Hi,
      Kinda right you are. Thanks for reading and commenting. I had sent you an email describing the details. “Reinventing Self” is next week’s topic which will start from today. Aastha is writing the Mega article tonight. Please contribute a snippet and send it to me. You’re always welcome.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi,
        I have seen this week’s topic yesterday right after commenting. Will soon come with a snippet. Bye have a great weekend.

        Kalpana.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Chiradeep says:

        Great… Have a great day too ma’am

        Like

  3. Aastha says:

    Beautiful piece Chiradeep. Loved the way you captured the gist of thoughts of all writeup’s of this week and concluding it well. You did the magic as you always do !!

    Cheers,
    Aastha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chiradeep says:

      Thanks dear Aastha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

