BEST SLEEPING POSITIONS TO AVOID SLEEP DEPRIVATION

We had a great week on the most talked aspect of life: “Sleep” and it was a very fun filled and informative week. Yesterday we saw Dr. Anupam spoke about the time we waste spending on sleep only which ultimately make us unproductive.  And tonight I will talk about “our sleeping positions & patterns” which might end this week with little more fun. 

I was reading an article by  Melanie Curtin. She states, “A human being will actually die of sleep deprivation before starvation–it takes about two weeks to starve, but only 10 days to die if you go without sleep.” This implies how important is sleep in our life.

But I was quite amused to read her this line when she says, “Those who don’t get enough sleep are more likely to suffer from chronic diseases that include hypertension, diabetes, depression, obesity, and cancer. It’s thus vital to get enough shuteye, but it turns out your sleep position also has a significant impact on the quality of rest you get.”

So a good sleeping position is also important for a good rest.

My Mom says when I was born I was found sleeping with my one leg up on the other like a “Nawab” (Moughal King). Wish I have a picture of that… But I don’t have. 😦

2e20abbf26a05dd92451ebc1d2f5ae54215d43b1But do you know what is my favorite sleeping position now? I love to sleep with a pillow between my legs and belly… Something exactly like this as shown in the picture.  

Yeah yeah I know you find it funny… Now stop giggling… 😉

Actually, I have seen many people sleeping like this. Even one of my cousin brother also sleeps like this with his mouth opening a bit especially when he is fast asleep. We always tease him for that. 

CXPYWT_2372416kSome people sleep lay straight on their back and sleep flat like my wife sleeps. I really can not sleep like that at all. I feel breathless. I can sleep for sometime like that but not for more than 10 minutes. 

PJ-BL956_YHEALT_P_20130114210754Some people even like to sleep on their stomach exactly reverse of the previous position. Sometime I like to sleep like this also.

For some people positions doesn’t matter. They can sleep anywhere at any positions. Like my Dad, he can sleep literally in any position and anywhere. One of colleagues is the same. I had taken a number of pictures of him during the office hours. 

Following are some funny sleeping positions which I had collected for all of you… they are really entertaining:

man-sleepingThis guy reminds me of my cousin about whom I mentioned earlier in this article.

aa9c6277

kids-sleeping-positions-funny-21

funny-fun-humor-lol-sleeping-positions-people-pics-images-photos-8

Funny-pictures-of-couples-sleeping
kids-sleeping-positions-funny-34

kids-sleeping-positions-funny-45

sleeping-positions-of-funny-girl

On a serious note I just want to conclude my article mentioning about the right position of  sleeping according to the neuroscientists. 

sleeping-couple-160426Neuroscientists emphasize that sleep reenergizes the cells of our body, aids in memory and new learning, and clears waste from the brain. Clearing wastes from the brain being the most important among all other.

Sleeping on our side’ is the most helpful of all sleeping positions in regards to clearing out waste from the brain… that’s what a neuroscience study suggested.

Melanie ends her article by quoting the neuroscientists and experts as under:

Sleeping on your side is good for more than just optimal brain functioning. It’s helpful for those prone to snoring, those with obstructive sleep apnea, neck and back pain, and for pregnant women. The position elongates the spine, which helps with back pain, and mechanically opens the oropharynx, which can help with breathing.

For best results, sleep experts, chiropractors, and physical therapists recommend the following:

  1. Lie on your side, but not in the fetal position. (Some bending of the knees is fine, just not all the way up)
  2. Use an ergonomic pillow under your head, thick enough that your neck is supported
  3. Place a small pillow between your legs, such that your spine stays straight

Then, count sheep. 

So friends! Start practicing to sleep enough without distractions, but don’t sleep too much to be called as lazy and unproductive and don’t forget the right position of sleeping: “Sleep on your side” to get the best out of your sleep.

GOOD NIGHT, SLEEP TIGHT!

Stay Blessed!!!

Your valuable feedback please...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.