I CONFESS – I AM MONEY MINDED

Hello Everyone,

Yesterday night I was struggling hard to add Google Adsense on my WordPress site.  Only aim was to monetize my blog site.  But I failed.  Actually possibility of  monetization of blog sites encouraged me to start blogging.  Or let’s say one of the reasons.  And I don’t shy away from admitting so.  I don’t mind if you call me money minded, I really won’t.  Because if desire to be financially independent or make an extra stream of income is being money minded then I am “IT”.   Not only this but I think of money in every possible situation.  For example I wait for months of sale to shop loads because they offer huge discounts, if electricity bills flare up that gives me sense of tension, an unwanted expense that could affect the monthly budget definitely puts me off.  Though I have a comfortable life but this is the way I think, can’t help it.  And I am not alone who thinks this way.  We all are money minded but not greedy, calculative but not misers, there’s a lot of difference.

To start with I used to work before marriage but marriage and relocation rendered me jobless.  And my quest for job as well as for myself started seven years back and still continuing :).  In this materialistic world success stands synonym for worth of a person.  And what measures the success?  More often than not it is “net worth” I mean how much you earn, properties possessed and likewise.  It is a harsh reality whether we have the courage to accept it or simply turn a blind eye towards it.

Let me give you a simple example of how materialistic the world has become.  Even the donations offered in Hundis (donation boxes) are accounted as annual turnover (can check example of Tirupati, pilgrimage destination in India, even the presiding deity is referred to as “richest god”). Actually what brings a sense of relief is that the money collected is channelized for various agendas like free meals, education, shelter for homeless and so on. But my point is when donations are meant to be secret (if your right hand donates your left hand shouldn’t be aware of it) we often come across news of so and so person donating so and so amount, read millions and billions or kind, read precious things such as gold and diamonds.  Why such publicity?  I see two possible reasons behind that:

  • Tax evasion
  • To let know people their net worth and earn respect.

Now coming back to my case as I admitted earlier, I am a money minded person.  I think of making money day and night, my brain churns out possible ideas of feasible employments (guys wish me all the best so that at least one idea hits bull’s eye ) and there is nothing wrong in that.  For a person who have witnessed difficult days in life the desire to earn money by every possible (legal and moral) way can never be wrong and that person could be anyone.  A money minded person is futuristic as always tries to see into and prepare for future – be it their own or family.  And I am sure we all are traveling in the same boat, right?

To conclude there is nothing wrong in being money minded but your heart should be at right place.  I firmly believe that it’s not necessary to be devoid of morals, principles and emotions to earn money and not every money minded person is scrupulous.  Had it been so then all the millionaires and billionaires would have been cheats and not referred to respectfully.  What do you think?