Emotions: a weakness or strength?, SNIPPETS

BE THE GIRL

“You are girl, behave like one”

“You are girl, you should always lower your voice”

“you are girl, walk properly”

“You are girl, you should sacrifice “

“You are girl, you should respect others”

” You are girl, behave properly”

Have you heard any of these statements??

Yes, I guess quite a lot can comprehend these statements. I have grown up in the similar scenario too, being brought by a typical Indian family. Even if you have not heard from your parents, you might have at least from your so-called relatives, who just really don’t care, but want to pinpoint your faults. It is very common to see the people especially women itself degrading women. A girl child is also a child, she equally deserves to be independent like the boy child. She also has her own good and bad, which she needs to figure out.

Life can never be spoon fed, it has to be lived.

We all do take care of our kids, but it doesn’t mean having a girl child along makes your life dreadful. A girl child is also worthy of dreaming and achieving. No rules are laid for being a girl or a boy. Our society must understand that, yet they turn a blind eye towards it.

We, especially in India, the girl child is considered a burden. I wonder why do they have such a mindset. I myself have two little princesses, they are my world, I give them my whole life.

There happened a conversation, where I had argued a lot being a mother of two girls. :

“Are you planning for one more child? “

I was startled, and asked, “Why, I have two kids already, why I need more?”

“You have only two daughters, why don’t you try for a son? “

Actually, the word “Only” was frustrating me

I asked, “Why do I need a son, I have two independent girls .”

“No… for taking your family name ahead, ….”

I stopped the conversation with a sharp look, giving an answer for all the non-senses that was going to flow ahead

“It is not the boy or a girl thing, It is the child who takes the name. If you do good, people still recognize you as your parent’s child, not someone else. I still carry my family name, If I do good, it is my family who earns it.” I too remarked that “Girls are far better in carrying a family ahead “.

I get frustrated and angered, the conversation was actually boiling up my emotions especially when someone compares a girl and a boy. Where in the world, they have written rules like that. There are no limitations set by GOD, he lets us live it equally. It is us human who laid the rules and most of them not in favor of the girl.

Girls are not weaker, the more we strengthen them emotionally, they learn to fight. Once they know to stand up for themselves, none can hamper their growth. But unfortunately, we do not do it perfectly. We ask them to sacrifice, shatter their dreams, get scared of people as they might harm you etc.

Now, presently things are changing, the society accepts a few changes, yet the revolution is not highly influential. Let your girl child grow, enjoy the benefits of growing up equally, then only we can bring in a healthy society.

Girls are like a powerhouse, the more we add the power of will and strength in them, the girl shines out well. Teach them that they are not born for sacrificing their will and interests, help them to capture their dreams.

I personally, feel that being a mother of two girls is what I am proud of. They are my strengths, they are my everything. Nurture every child, boy or a girl, truly in a way that each facilitate each others growth. NurtTeach them to keep their head high.

It is the time that every girl born are saved, they deserve a life too. Not a life that has to be trashed finally, but to be lived truly.

17 thoughts on “BE THE GIRL”

  1. 100% correct and a much-needed piece to be written! Thank you, for your heartfelt and profound and challenging piece. May we hope that many many people take heed of your words.

    We shall overcome!

    Peace and Equality for ALL !

    warmest wishes, afzal

    Liked by 2 people

      1. hope you don’t mind me sharing this scribble with you …

        I am Woman.

        just when you think you’ve broken me,

        with your cowardly fists,

        with your diseased tongue,

        I will not cower.

        your fake macho shell does not frighten me,

        your violence will not silence me.

        I am I,

        the mother,
        the sister,
        the partner,

        the woman!

        I am me.

        I am Woman!

        and you are not.
        nor can you ever be.


        https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.js

        Liked by 4 people

  2. There has to be revolutionary change in mindset of the people before we girls can hope to stand at par with the men. But speaking about it, writing about it is one way of bringing some change – at least that is what I hope and do. Thanks for raising some very valid issues and concerns.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. “Girls are like a powerhouse, the more we add the power of will and strength in them, the girl shines out well. Teach them that they are not born for sacrificing their will and interests, help them to capture their dreams.”

    That paragraph was the soul of the whole article. Very beautifully written Sreepriya with poems, wisdom and life experiences. Thanks.

    God bless you! Regards, CP

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

