Busy or Lazy, SNIPPETS

MEET THE PROCRASTINATION QUEEN

OMG look at the time!

I still have so much to do.. Where did the time fly.. Why does it always happen with me….

Hi all meet the procrastination queen.. Yes. That’s me. Give me a dead line and I will wait for the last possible time to meet that dead line. No I don’t do it knowingly it just happens. In my defence I would say that it was never the case that I didn’t do my work. My school / college work was always complete and I was in the good books of my teachers. But I was constantly swaying between a state of complete inactivity and burst of frantic or frenzied activity.

This was the story of my college days. I must say I have come a long way from that. Now being a homemaker and mother I am much more organised (Need to set an example for my kids  …) but still I am far from perfect. Even today, one day before the project submission at my kid’s school you can see a glimpse of the former me and my children, running around trying to complete the model or project on time.

To a certain extent I guess it happens with all of us. We tend to put off work or chores that are uninteresting and boring. But what has to be done – has to be done. So finally we end up doing it hurriedly and in a haphazard manner.

Does it really help to procrastinate? Actually no. If there is something in our to do list that we are just delaying doing, its always there in the back of our mind. A small nagging feeling that does not go away even though we try hard to ignore it. All we are doing is increasing our tension.

And then when the work is over we have that guilt feeling of not giving our best to it. And a small regret that had we done it systematically we would have done a better job. Like even today I carry the regret that had I been more serious during the last few years of my school life I would have been an engineer today like my sister. I would also have a proper career. It was never the case that I didn’t have the brains or capacity it was just that I was lazy. Didn’t want to put in extra effort. And that habit of doing the thing at the last moment was my nemesis.  I had that typical Indian ‘Chalta hai ..’attitude. Never took my studies that seriously.

So guys my learning here is that no matter how boring or uncomfortable the work assigned to you is do it when the time is there in your hands. However much we try to ignore it the work never goes away rather it keeps becoming a bigger monster every time we sneak a look at it.

I really admire the people around me who have mastered the art of time management. I am learning from them. As I understand it’s the best to tackle the most uncomfortable or difficult task first this way we won’t have any excuse to procrastinate. Make a to-do list and start ticking it off systematically. Remember the clock keeps ticking and soon very soon we would regret our decision to procrastinate.

7 thoughts on “MEET THE PROCRASTINATION QUEEN”

  1. Just to add to the conversation: I think a large part of procrastination stems from anxiety. When you have anxiety you build a subconscious wall around yourself, mere replies to emails can feel like prepping to climb a mountain.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Very well observed. Sometimes I do procrastinate when I am overburdened. It’s pretty weird psychology that when we are supposed to be more attentive to our responsibility we try to replace it with something less important at that particular moment.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Kuljeet, again a very well deserved article written out of your honest confession and life experiences. That’s what I love about your write ups. Keep it up.

    Regards, CP

    Like

Leave a Reply

