Bitterness to Life, SNIPPETS

LOOK AT ‘BITTERNESS’ OUT OF THE BOX

In a general sense the word ‘Bitterness’ makes us understand about the taste of something, as the web dictionary defines ‘Bitter’ as, “having a harsh, disagreeably acrid taste”. But when we use that same meaning for life then it seems very grievous. The other definitions of bitter are: Hard to bear; grievous; distressful….etc. – as I said the matter becomes very serious when we lose the taste of our life.

“My life has no joy… It’s so bitter.”

“The bitterness towards my life is increasing day by day.”

“I am so bitter about my life. I don’t wanna live anymore.”

“I want to quit.”

“No any more.”

The above statements indicate how someone can feel when s/he is bitter about his/her life.

What can make us bitter?

Let me explain a case study…

A girl of 4-5 years lost her mother. The mother didn’t die but left her. The girl grew up with her siblings but the trauma was heavy on the whole family though she suffered the most. She suffered combating jealousy, wicked schemes of outsiders, injustice from the single parent she had with her. All these things happened not only for a year or two but year after year. The girl kept feeling rejected by all. She cried, she yelled but there was no one to come to her rescue. Her father fixed her marriage to a boy who was a terminally ill person. She loved him despite of his sickness seeing his caring nature. She got married to him but the problems never ended. The bitterness to life increased in her heart and mind.

This case study gives us a picture of a lady with extreme bitterness towards her life. If we look around us there are many such people who have lost hope in their lives.

If I take my example, I have felt bitter towards my life lots of times. I was bitter because I wasn’t given good health so that I could play with my friends in school. I was bitter because I was restricted to ride a bicycle and used to go to school with my aunt in the cycle rickshaw. I was bitter because I was unable to be used in any physical activities which any young kid or college going boy loves to do. I was bitter, in fact felt disgusted of me when I used to see the girls coming to the college by motor bike yet I used to come sitting at the back of my friends’ bicycle or motor bike or come alone in a cycle rickshaw. I used to depend a lot on my friends to do many things for me. Sometimes they used to deny me of doing it for me. I felt disgusted when my family members were looking for any physically handicapped quota for my college admission. I was bitter when I was unable to do any professional course for my future.

So what we observe in both of these true life experiences that the life situations, the people around us, sometimes family, sicknesses etc., are the causes of our bitterness towards life.

But what about the lady? She never gave up, despite the devilish thoughts of death coming to her mind again and again. She never gave in to that thought of quitting her life.  She lives with a hope that her Creator God will definitely bring changes in her life one day.

She says, “I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.

Bitterness never came to an end in my life. What do you think it’s finished just because I smile and stay jovial? I have overcome it?

NO WAY!!!

But it could not overpower me after I understood the perspective of my life. I changed the way I  used to look at bitterness in my life. My focus shifted from what I don’t have, what I can’t do to what I have, what I can do. My motto in life became to “Smile and make others Smile” instead of counting how much I suffered. The scripture portion – “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might” became My Motivation.

Friends! Look at your life differently, change your perspective to make bitterness negligible.

Stay blessed!!!

3 thoughts on “LOOK AT ‘BITTERNESS’ OUT OF THE BOX”

  1. Very true…. Bitterness spoils everything but yes the sentences ‘Smile and make others Smile and The scripture portion – “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might” is truly inspiring… Thanks for such a wonderful article

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

