MUSIC AND RAIN – MY RELAXANTS

15th November 2014, the eventful day when my child was born – the day we cherish, love and celebrate. It was the day when I finally bid farewell to a life of rest and relaxation. From that day till now, work had been the main part of my day’s schedule. It was not only me but also my mother-in-law who worked all day. My mother-in-law was a banker then. She had a fixed time of work. Her tight schedule always kept her on her toes and kept her busy. Her mode of relaxation was a long drive along the river bank, or a short visit to her sister’s place or a movie night. For rest, she loved to come over to which ever state we lived in for the holidays. I too had similar ways to relax which included a late night drive across the deserted streets, a light mood chat with my mother or husband, playing, cooking, art and watching movies. I used to write poems and stories at times, and was appreciated by many friends and family members.

Those now are the ‘fancy stuffs’ I long for. I hardly get time to even sit. Well, these are usual things that happen to everyone. Male or Female, we all long for our comfort zones where we can rest or relax. Recently, I realized that music and rain are the two things that relax me the most. Whenever I feel down, or agitated or unwilling to have any conversation, I switch on the music. I zone out while working and I find peace. Its a way back to sanity and happiness in my life. Music has always had a calming effect on me. Maybe it is very genetic, but I never knew it could fill me with such tranquility. 

Same with rains! I do not get to feel the water on me but still the smell, the wind, the cooling effect, and just the feeling of rain clouds over me is so thrilling and make me the happiest. Even if its gloomy, dirty and muddy for many, its love for some too.

Though things as such are rarities in life, I try to fill in some of them to my daily schedule. They really pump up my energy and fill me with an urge to work more efficiently. Rest is an utmost requirement of our body. Less of it and our body will tire more and we would age more faster. With the adequate amount of rest and relaxation, our body will be able to work efficiently and keep us away from illness by fighting disease causing agents. Like a machine, which requires a shutdown for a particular amount of time to work more efficiently, our body too requires a shutdown. A complete sleep, a short nap, a relaxing spa time, a perfect massage, a warm bath, a 20-mins walk, a soulful conversation, laughing to the heart’s content can give our body a restart for better functioning.

The soul will also rejoice the flow of energy. Let us also be thoughtful and live a little for our own self. Let us prepare to make memories for a longer period, by keeping our body, mind and heart healthy. Because as happiness is self-made, so are rest and relaxation.

Life is all about balance. You don’t always need to be getting stuff done. Sometimes its perfectly okay, and absolutely necessary, to shut down, kick back and do nothing.                                                                                                                – Lori Deschene

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nice read dear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

