Rest and Relaxation, SNIPPETS

WHAT IS REST FOR YOU?

I have too many To-do lists for different times of the day and different activities. So, what are all types of “To Do” lists that I have on my phone (using various different apps) . . .

There is a To do list of household chores for each day. This is an obvious one – I think all women have it if not on the phone then in their heads – List of household never-ending chores.

There is another one for office work. Of course that is needed to keep things in structure at work.

There is yet another important one that contains the list of things I have to do on my commute to and from work. It takes me about 1.5 hours to reach work and that is an important time that can be used quite well. This list contains items like ordering online gifts or groceries, writing articles for Candles, sleeping, watching movies, checking emails and replying to some, talking/chatting on phone with few people, read news etc.

These 3 hours in bus are totally a “Me-time” for me. This is the only time I get to do things that matter to me. Of course, it is not very convenient to do all this in a bus – but if you know Bangalore traffic, you would know that this traffic really crawls. So rash driving is not really a problem.

Relaxation doesn’t always mean vacations. It could be a small time out as well. Something that you just do because you like it. Doing things that you are passionate about can be very relaxing.

There are days when I am so stressed out mentally that I have no energy to think anymore. However, my physical energy is too high, it is so high that I am not tired physically to sleep but mentally I just want to rest. This is what is called a restless sleep. At this time, all that is needed is to match the energy levels of your physical and mental self. In this situation – I hit the gym. And that is rest for me. Because my physical body works out and my mind gets to rest just listening to music. It is a huge stress buster for me after a bad day at work. Once I come back from gym – I am all ready to sleep peacefully.

Definition of rest is different for different people. But it is important to know what is rest for you. If you do not know – life can be extremely difficult.

My 2 year old son is not mature enough to understand that he is sleepy when he really is sleepy. He is so interested in playing that he resists sleep till he has even an ounce of energy left. But playing in a sleepy state is also not enjoyable for him. He is cranky, doesn’t like his toys, cries every now and then, starts hitting others – all this because he simply doesn’t realize that all he needs to do is to close his eyes and rest.

This happens to adults also when they don’t realize that if they take a restful break – life will be much better. Make sure you identify what is relaxing for you and you fill the voids in your day with that activity. It doesn’t matter if it is sleeping, watching TV, listening to music, going for a walk etc. Don’t judge yourself about what you do during this time. Just be yourself and take enough rest and relaxation so that you return to your life feeling more motivated and productive.

Leave a Reply

