Silly Thoughts, SNIPPETS

​OH WAIT! THAT WAS SO SILLY OF ME…

Our world is filled with people who try to look pretty serious on the outside, and some may be serious on the inside too. But I am definitely sure that all of them have been bugged by silly thoughts from time to time. And these silly thoughts are not restricted to a certain age group. I know that when we are kids our imagination is hyperactive and our thinking is completely independent of any world view, but even when we grow older there is always a kid somewhere within us.

Enough with the introduction now! Let’s head into few of the silly/stupid/weird thoughts I have had over the years.

The union with Vicky

I was may be 11 or 12 when “Small Wonder” used to come on TV broadcasted on the Start plus Channel. And I immediately took a liking to Vicky, the humanoid-robot created by Ted Lawson, and accepted as a part of the Lawson family. Well I accepted her too and was smitten by her.  Smitten so much that I even dared to kiss the TV while she was in the frame; of course nobody else was there in the room. And in my dreams I used to see this strange storm transporting me to Vicky’s world. The dream was always incomplete and the union with Vicky (in my dreams) never happened.

The thing with orange seeds

Now this is something which might be common to folks. When I was a kid, someone had told me that you should not swallow orange seeds or else an orange plant would take root in your stomach and soon you would be producing oranges. Well! The orange plant taking root within me itself was a horrifying thought which made me extremely careful while eating oranges. And the worst part was I actually thought it would work this way: “You swallow the seed and then you drink water, and the plant starts to grow. That’s how plants grow; water the seeds and they grow, don’t they?” One day when I accidentally swallowed a seed I got very anxious. I could not even avoid drinking water, but then when nothing happened and I learned about the digestive system my fears were allayed.

Coming to my fears: When I thought I was being haunted…

I was very tired that evening. The washing of clothes gave my back a lot of pain and my shoulders a bit of strain. The dinner was heavy. I gulped in 6 chapattis with a dry brinjal-capsicum dish. By 11 pm I left my chair near the laptop and fell on my mattress.  

I was in deep sleep when something started to move. I tried opening my eyes and I could see the figure right above me. It was waving as if chanting some spell on me. My legs had grown cold because of the ceiling fan. I remembered switching off the fan before going to sleep but now it was running in full speed. The figure drew closer to my face and I could hardly move an inch. I felt it almost caressing my throat as my breathing morphed into panting like a sudden gear-shift. 

As I tried to reach the figure with my arms suddenly the image became clearer. And with a sudden gasp I regained my senses and recognized the terror. They were clothes hanging from the metal-strip on the door. I checked my mobile for the time. It was 2:53 AM

Does our planet earth confirm to atlas?

Now I have a fascination with geography so when I finally got my hands on atlas and saw the map of different countries and continents, I always wondered if we really get high enough amidst the skies and look down from there will the countries actually look the shape they appear to be in the maps. I never dared to ask this question to my geography teacher.  May be I can go fly to the space one day and check that. And I also wonder how all that water manages to stay contained inside our planet.

Do people actually drink in office and that too during the day?

This happened very recently. I sat across the table of this officer who was having a conversation with my superintendent who sat beside me.  This officer seemed to be affable and jovial. I sat quietly listening to their conversation when my eyes fell on a drinking glass. It interestingly was half-filled with whisky-like looking liquid. Thoughts start racing in my head: “Has this officer already gulped in half a glass of whisky during office hours? Is this the reason he looks to be so affable and jovial?  Should I ask my sir if this officer has this habit?” I knew the answer to the last question was “No” and soon we left the table. I smiled at the officer as I got up from my seat.

Amongst other crazy thoughts why the “hotdog” is named so when it has nothing to do with dogs and is the “100ft road” really 100 ft long. That’s a bunch of silly thoughts from me.  May we enjoy a little silly side of things once in a while as we try to make sense of things happening around us.  Stay blessed!

5 thoughts on “​OH WAIT! THAT WAS SO SILLY OF ME…”

  1. I remember being told about what would happen if I swallowed seeds (or chewing gum!). Amazing how old wives’ tales can take root, isn’t it? An entertaining read. Oh, and wise of you not to comment on the contents of your supervisor’s glass!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

