MY MULTIPLE SOURCES OF CONFIDENCE

As I was out for my morning walk I saw a little girl trying to learn how to ride a bicycle. I could see that she was struggling for balance, but she didn’t give up as her dad was behind her supporting her and urging her to keep moving ahead. He was being her source of confidence.

In this life all of us have struggled with self-belief one time or the other. We envy certain people for being so self-assured and appearing to be so sure of themselves.  It seems as if it comes naturally to them, doesn’t it? At various points of my life when I have been low on confidence I have found a source of confidence. And I have been blessed enough to have more than one source of confidence.

Going back to my school days when studies was of utmost importance my dad was always there to encourage me. He could be strict but he was encouraging, and always gently urged me to perform better in my studies. I never felt pressured and it helped me to be confident in my subjects as the element of fear and pressure was never dominating my mind.  Classes never seemed like a burden, thanks to him.

I have always been in awe of these public speakers, who so magically captivate the audience with their eloquent speech. Once it so happened that the top extempore speaker was absent in the class and we needed two participants for inter-class extempore speech competition. One of my friends who were a good speaker had filled one spot. My English Ma’am suggested me to fill the second spot. She said that I should give it a try. I reluctantly heeded to her suggestion. I was a nervous wreck in front of the mike and I think I just completed a sentence or two about my given topic, stared blankly at my principal and my classmates, and then stepped down in embarrassment.  But somehow to my surprise I felt my fear of facing a public audience had decreased to a great extent. And I realized that with more preparation and practice, I could, may be captivate an audience one day. That small push from Ma’am placed me in a position which I for long felt was beyond me.

She was also the first one who pointed out to me that I could write well. In one of my essays she had remarked that it was very interesting. It assured me that I was capable of writing well and in a way it was that one remark which spurred me to write articles, poems and snippets and maintain writing as one of my primary hobbies.

Confidence is such a fragile entity that a small positive word or action can uplift and do a world of good for a person who is need of it.

I don’t claim to be a very spiritual person, but whenever I need that internal peace and tranquility, a source of love and hope, I have taken recourse to prayer. My faith has helped me to get through some tough times. It’s a never ending source of inner strength and resolve. And I know that I can always count on it.

And when I have faced heartbreaks and emotional crisis I have turned to very close friends and certain cousins whose listening ears have helped me to lighten the load of my heavy heart. Though I have never been dependent on a particular anyone I am immensely fortunate to have multiple sources of confidence in my life.    

One Comment Add yours

  1. I only know one source , God

    Like

Leave a Reply

