CRUSHING ON A CARTOON: MY FIRST CRUSH THAT WASN’T

I’m sure you’ve heard of people crushing on film stars, celebs, rockstars and even film characters. But have you ever heard of someone who’s had a crush on a Cartoon Character?

 No? I though as much. But you know now…me! 

The topic for this week is First Crush, and it got me reminiscing… and missing mine. Now, I don’t really recall anyone through Kindergarten or Secondary School who made my heart palpitate like boiling eggs in a saucepan, but I do remember my first real crush – a cartoon character. And this is how it happened.

I was watching cartoons with my brothers and cousins on Cartoon Network, back when the channel had just started and had taken most households with kids, who had heretofore survived on reruns of Alladin and Jungle Book, by storm (yes, I’m that old). While one series ended, the next one began, and there he was… Blue eyed, blonde, mischievous, reckless, caring, helpful, street-smart, and handsome to boot. He must have been portrayed to be around 15-16 years old, and the way he ran across the screen to save a damsel in distress or skid down to a two-dimensional precipice without giving a damn about his life, made me swoon, palpitate and vacillate between tender love and fierce devotion. My brother and other cousins hated watching his show and I would defend him with all my heart. Why were these fools not able to see how glorious he was?

That was in school, somewhere just before I shifted to High School. But this character (I dare not reveal his name here) stayed with me well into my Sophomore year at college. I have a bad, bad habit of daydreaming, and talking to myself and to inanimate things (talk about a double whammy) and he would be right there, in almost all my imaginary scenarios, stories and fantasies.

I had meticulously traced his onscreen family, facts like where he lived, what he did, what he liked or disliked, and woven a very, very realistic picture of what he would be like in real life. Yes, folks, I was that crazy! Some of my flatmates suspected I had a long-distance relationship with some guy and would needle me for information on this ‘mysterious boyfriend’. I never told them. What was I supposed to say, that I was crushing over a Cartoon? Ha!

I can’t remember daydreaming or weaving scenarios around any other person as I did with him. Damn him for all those times when I spurned overtures from real guys throughout school and early college. This guy was single-handedly responsible for setting the bar too high for any guy to match upto.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. “This wasn’t a crush. This was an ideal of a boy”, and you’re right. But aren’t most crushes like that? Most of our crushes are our own ideas, about how a person must be, unless we’ve known that person for quite sometime. But yes, I will concede that as crushes go, this one was weird indeed.

It’s not like I didn’t crush on normal guys. I did. There’s an entire list of them. But they never got the same dogged devotion from me. However, somewhere in my Sophomore year I realised that my crush on him was causing me more harm than benefit. I changed. I grew up. I let go of my preconceived notions of how the perfect man must be. And he was relegated to only my stories.

But like they say, first crushes are always special. Mine was too, and to this day, he’s the hero of every one of my stories, unless the hero is supposed to be a dark character. I still talk to him sometimes, and of course, I still love him. Afterall, he’s my creation, my version of a perfect man. My first crush that wasn’t, but my eternal love.

©Pradita Kapahi, 2017

Author Blog – the praditachronicles.com

40 Comments Add yours

  1. Chiradeep says:

    Excellent read… This crush can’t be crushed… because a fantasy character will remain in your fantasy world till the end. 😂

    You are so fortunate to have a crush on this blue eyed handsome boy. Wish I could know the name….😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol! Thanks a lot Chiradeep… And id rather not reveal the name. It took alot of guts to share this publicly 😁

      Like

      1. Chiradeep says:

        😂😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. vishal4u says:

    Well thank God you gave up on your first crush, because filling those shoes would have been very difficult for guys!!! Lovely post. 👌👌🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks a lot 😊 Glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. letsjstdoit says:

    I enjoyed reading it… Even i used to daydream like this and think beyond what would hv happened, it is so much enjoyable…. Childhood without cartoons is nothing…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is very true. They open up a whole other world of possibilities for us. Just like books do. Thanks for reading and I’m glad you liked it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. pete1990 says:

    A lovely read! I once had a crush on “Vicki” from “Small-Wonder”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you… Viki was cute. Totally crush worthy.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Mine was Jasmine from Aladdin.

    Like

    1. Oh Jasmine was so hot! She’s one of my favourite Disney Princesses too 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, seen so many girls cosplay but no one can beat the original. Clicked the poll link, nothing opened.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s right. I’m sorry I know nothing of the poll link. I’m fairly new to WP and there’s still a lot I need to learn about how to work here 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Chiradeep says:

        What?🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Kya hua?

        Like

  6. bloggeray says:

    Well, I am so old I have even forgotten who or what my first crush was. Lol! But seriously, you were fortunate to have realised in time that your crush was unrealistic and causing you harm. Not many do that. Kudos on an excellent post.

    Like

    1. Quite honestly I don’t remember who my first real crush was either. It was definitely some school boy but I can’t recall who. Anyway, he couldn’t have left a lasting impression that’s why I haven’t written about him 😁 Yes, I learnt but by god, 7 years of crushing over a cartoon is too lame, now that I think of it 😑

      Liked by 1 person

      1. bloggeray says:

        Ha ha ha. Ah well, we all have our embarrassments. 😀

        Like

      2. Exactly 😁😁

        Liked by 1 person

      3. bloggeray says:

        What’s this polldaddy link that is coming up with all your replies on this post?

        Like

      4. I have no idea! I see this on other people’s replies and comments too and I don’t know if its something from my site or theirs. Any idea?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. bloggeray says:

        And again. 😂😂😝

        Liked by 1 person

      6. 😂 😂 😂 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      7. bloggeray says:

        I think this is linked to the poll that is showing at the end of your post. Somehow.

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Then it must be something to do with the sites settings. Coz it definitely doesnt happen on my site.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. bloggeray says:

        Yeah, surely.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. cringetoons says:

    I love this post! Cartoons have such a strong influence on children. I can remember having a crush on quite a few cartoons characters myself. https://cringetoons.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot. Which cartoons did you like?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. cringetoons says:

        I had a huge crush on Ed from Ed Edd n Eddy hahahaa. Also, Prince Eric

        Like

      2. Ed was the smart one, right? I’m sorry it was so long ago, I’ve forgotten now 😁 Yes, Prince Eric was such a charmer!

        Like

      3. cringetoons says:

        Ed was the dumb one hahaa. I just liked him cause he was the tallest.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. 😂 😂 😂 that’s cute!

        Like

  8. cringetoons says:

    He’s not my type anymore hahahaa

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh we grow over our foolishness with time. Thanks for stopping by. It was fun 😊

      Like

  9. cringetoons says:

    No problem. I had fun. Stop by my blog anytime.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will for sure, friend 😊

      Like

  10. Hi! Please like, share and follow my blog. Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Will do so shortly 😊

      Like

  11. Hi! Please like, share and follow my blog. Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

