REACT AND REPENT; RESPOND AND REJOICE

The Golden Rule says – “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

That means, that we should treat others the way we want to be treated by them.

Now, most of us want to be treated with love, kindness and respect. But that’s not exactly what we give back each time we interact with people. For example, when we have an altercation with someone, there are times when our behaviour becomes adversarial, our tone sharp, we may become offensive or defensive, and in the heat of the moment we may end up doing something that we otherwise may not have done. We do this because we’re angry, we feel threatened, hurt, upset or even irritated. So, instead of responding in a situation, we often react instead, and then repent later.

Wait… what? Are reacting and responding two different things?

Absolutely!

For example, if someone accuses you of something, your first line of action is generally to react by denying and then saying something harsh to the one who’s accusing you. That’s called a Reaction. What happens next is, both you and the accuser get into a verbal showdown, which leaves bitterness between two people, sometimes for years to come.

But the alternative to this problem is that you calm yourself first, understand why the accuser is saying such things, talk to the accuser calmly and try to reason out with him. This is a Response. In this situation, what may happen is that the accuser may calm down himself and actually listen to you, instead of being aggressive. You two may part ways on good terms and may even become the best of buds!

So, which scenario would you prefer? I think all of us can agree that the second is more agreeable, right?

But wait, who am I to sermonize over what you ought to do?

There’s an idiom that says – once bitten, twice shy.

I’ll give you an example from my own life and maybe then you’ll realise why Responding to a situation is better than Reacting.

I was best friends with a very loving, kind, funny and bright girl when I was in college. We got on famously right from the start and had even moved in together so we could spend the last year of college in each other’s happy company. She was like a Sister to me and I loved her a lot. And I suspect I meant the same to her too.

Then came a time when a very trivial and stupid misunderstanding between her and a mutual friend ripped us apart. I stood by her but at the same time I was torn between protecting her and defending the mutual friend, who had actually meant no harm. It was a misunderstanding, plain and simple, but she wasn’t able to see that. She instead accused me of being unfaithful and being a backstabber. Those words hurt me a lot and I put on my defensive armour and started accusing her of being blind and unreasonable.

The end result was, I ended up moving out of the shared flat; we stopped talking to each other; we stopped hanging out in the same circles, and even though both of us realized that we were being stupid, the harsh words we’d spoken to each other prevented us from ever getting back to the same plane that we shared. We weren’t really mad at each other, we were ashamed of saying such things to each other. But inspite of being ashamed, the chasm that had opened up between us was beyond repair. It was now about our bruised egos.

Friends tried to patch us up, including that mutual friend, but we were hurting too much. It still hurts, because she was the only one in my life who came close to being the ‘One’ best friend that we all seek in life.

What I did wrong was that I reacted, instead of responding. I didn’t try to reason with her, I didn’t try to understand where her accusations were coming from, I didn’t try to calm us down. I just chose to blindly speak my mind and cause her as much hurt as she had caused me by her words. I wanted revenge at the time.

But now I repent…

If I could turn back time, I would have done things a lot differently. We would have still been BFF’s, still graduated together, still gossiped about our love lives, still attended each other’s marriages and been privy to each other’s deepest secrets. But all that ended in one, hasty, angry evening.

I know it’s difficult keeping a level head when we face adversity. And sometimes, some situations just demand us to give tit for tat. But in the majority of situations, escalation of tension can be avoided if we remain calm and try to give a measured response to the instigator.

When we measure what we say, we are attempting to avoid bitterness and embrace compassion instead; we are making an attempt at being a better human being. And isn’t that the biggest lesson of life – to be a better human being? Isn’t that what the Golden rule I mentioned above all about?

So, the next time when you’re faced with a situation where you’re cornered and the adrenaline in you is screaming at you to lash out, tell yourself –

React and Repent; Respond and Rejoice!

I’ll leave you on that positive note and Kabir Das’ apt doha

ऐसी वाणी बोलिए, मन का आपा खोय। 
औरन को सीतल करे, आपहुं सीतल होय॥

(Speak words devoid of ego and harm, Words that calm them down, Words that calm you down.)

 

With Love,

Pradita Kapahi

Own Blog – “The Pradita Chronicles”

26 Comments Add yours

  1. idiotviews says:

    Very helpful post😀 thanks for making me understand the difference between reactions and response 👍👍👍👍✋

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 😊 😊 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. idiotviews says:

        You are always welcome but the link is not working

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh really. I’ll take a look right away. Thanks for letting me know

        Liked by 1 person

      3. idiotviews says:

        Yups whenever I click it some HTML code appear on screen

        Like

      4. It’s opening just fine on my phone and laptop. Try refreshing or just going through the candles website mainpage

        Liked by 1 person

      5. idiotviews says:

        Link didn’t worked but I rated your post 😀😁

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Aww thanks, mate 😊

        Like

      7. idiotviews says:

        You’re always welcome dear 😀😆😊😁😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kuljeet Saini says:

    Very well said pradita.. it’s a lesson we all should remember.. because words once out of the mouth can’t be taken back.. I hope and pray that you can still make up with your friend..

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks a lot, Ms. Saini. Unfortunately, me and that friend are history now. I don’t even know where she is and I suspect she doesn’t know about me either anymore. But thanks for your wishes 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A moving story, with an important lesson behind it. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re most welcome 😊

      Like

  4. Chiradeep says:

    Pardita,

    First of all, welcome and congratulation!

    “If I could turn back time, I would have done things a lot differently. We would have still been BFF’s, still graduated together, still gossiped about our love lives, still attended each other’s marriages and been privy to each other’s deepest secrets. But all that ended in one, hasty, angry evening.”

    This paragraph would not come in our lives if we foresee these conditions that time when we acted silly. That foreseeing makes us BIG and MATURED.

    It’s very hurting when we loose somebody so close as your friend was. The paragraph made me really sad… I don’t know why. I just tried to remember if I had lost someone like that or not. There was none… But may be, it’s because of your beautiful presentation. As a reader I felt as if I lost my friend. Beautifully written article and the results are evident.

    God bless you Pradita and keep inspiring your readers as much as possible. Loved it truly.

    Regards, CP

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so, so much Chiradeep for the glowing, moving comment. Yes that phase in my life was something I wouldn’t wish upon anyone. When you lose someone who you trust and love that much, and only because of your own stupidity, it feels like twice the loss, because if there was a mistake on the other end, that would have been some solace, but when it’s entirely your fault, you feel lost. I suspect she must have felt that way too. At least friends told me as much. But then we moved on. Everyone does. All you can do is make it a lesson and tell yourself ‘never again’. That’s what I tried to do with this article. If I helped someone cope, or made someone think twice before they made a similar mistake, that is ‘the’ reward for me. Thank you again for this opportunity 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Chiradeep says:

        You know the more we commit mistake and repent we learn… that should not be an excuse though. I love my relationships and I go to any extent to restore a strained one… I will email you the link of the most viewed article of Candles Online on reconciliation.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks a lot Chiradeep. Please send it across so I can learn too. Looking forward to your mail. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Chiradeep says:

        Sent

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thanks. On it now 😊

        Like

  5. Sakhi says:

    Very nice eye opening article Pradita. But nonetheless, I would say that every action has an equal and opposite reaction. So as per me, it is not easy to handle all the situation with care. Repentance might come, but at times you are bound to react the way you feel in that moment of heat. Prudence and patience are a virtue, and to respond responsibly they are needed. But when someone is being bad to you, it’s not always easy to handle with care….At times, self respect and ego are way more important than doing the right thing, and sometimes the right thing is reacting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s right and thats what I’ve pointed out in a paragraph in article too, that sometimes there’s no other way to act than to react. But we should first try to compose ourselves, especially when it concerns those who we hold dear. Your self control will not just help you in fights, but also in any adversity in life.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Michelle, RN says:

    This is great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Sams says:

    Good one chiradeep

    Like

Leave a Reply

