HER VALENTINE’S DAY RITUAL

Why don’t you join us?” They asked her for the hundredth time. She was exhausted from having to reject their pleas. Her friends were never tired though. “It’s just one night. It couldn’t hurt, right? Besides, just think , you might meet someone really cute.” Her best friend winked at her. She never felt the need to have male company; a man couldn’t complete her.

What would you do, shut in the house?” She didn’t see the need to answer that. They didn’t know her plan. Her Valentine’s Day ritual!

She woke up with the alarm clock ticking on the bed-stand. 4 years ago, she wouldn’t have been the only one to wake up. He was the one to wake up before her. She would stir in her sleep with him next to her. His playful and cheery self would bring him even closer to her, so she could feel his breath on her skin. Smiling, she would hug him as he’d nuzzle her cheek. 

But today, on the morning of 14th February, 4 years later, she woke up with a struggle. Lifted aside the blankets and stepped in her slippers.

What would you do, shut in the house? The thought echoed in her mind.

None of her friends were let in to share the secret – her Valentine’s Day ritual. She feared they would judge her, think that loneliness had turned her mind somehow. She will never be ready to tell them. They will never understand.

She got dressed in her black dress; the one that even today carried his smell. It was perfectly fit for the day. To some, it would seem she was out on a date, only it wasn’t so.

On the way, she bought the flowers he so loved – white daisies. And a bar of Mars, the only crunchy treat that got him out of a fit of rage or sadness. Just over a mile, she turned around the corner and walked past the gate. This was where they first met 9 years ago. This was where they always met for the past 4 years.

1st row, 2nd and 3rd… There!

“My heart is your home & there you’ll live forever!”

In loving memory of,

‘Dollar’

The Dog who still lives…

The headstone read.

Two great drops of tears washed away the dust settled on the ground where she laid the daisies and the bar of Mars. She felt the paw prints engraved on the stone. He was her friend, her companion, her love, her life. How could any man replace him?  She got up, turned and left the graveyard.

For her, this was customary. For her, this was Valentine’s Day.

~~~~~

I lost my pet German Shephard ‘Dollar’ many years ago.
But there’s not one day I don’t miss him.
I believe,

Valentine’s Day is about appreciating them
who make your life better, happier, worthwhile.
And that’s not just humans.

This post is my tribute to all our furred friends, to Dollar. ❤

That’s my idea of celebrating St. Valentine’s Day. What’s your idea?

~~~~~

©Asha Seth
www.themusingquill.com

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Aastha says:

    Asha, such a beautiful article. My eyes were wet as I was reading it. You are so right, valentine’s is about Love and it’s not limited to humans …

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Asha Seth says:

    Thank you, Aastha. I’m glad to see you second the thought. I feel I miss a day that we could say – Happy Pet’s Day! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. So sweet and beautiful! Yes, pets can be dearly loved.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asha Seth says:

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome Asha! 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Chiradeep says:

    Dear Asha,

    It is a pleasure to welcome you to Candles Online… I didn’t say anything after I read your article yesterday. Actually I was holding myself back for this opportunity to comment under your article.

    You are right, a Pet’s day has to be celebrated internationally. I remember when I was a kid I used to force my Mom to pick a puppy from the group of puppies on the street… and when the puppy misses it’s Mom at night it would cry all night breaking my heart. And next morning with teary eyes I used to say good bye to the puppy…

    But as I grew older life never gave me an opportunity to rear one pet alongside me.

    Beautiful story of Dollar and Asha. THANKS for the share… Dollar reminded of Richie Rich. 😉

    Once again… Welcome to the family 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asha Seth says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Chiradeep. Happy to be here and share my thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Chiradeep says:

        I was thinking what did I do wrong… Asha replied to all except me… 😂.

        You are welcome to share more… I will let you know the topics of coming week.

        Like

      2. Asha Seth says:

        Haha! Sorry. I do take time. I reply between work. So it’s neither here nor there. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Chiradeep says:

        That is fine…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Sakhi says:

    Hello, I am not a pet lover, but I am a lover. I was sad to read your article. The silent companions know nothing but to love, I too have a she-dog, she was a street dog, we made her ours. She is getting old, but her loyalties and affection only keep rising. I can’t help shedding a tear when I see them suffering because they express with those sad eyes in a way that rip you on the inside. Beautiful article, and welcome to Candle group.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asha Seth says:

      You said it point brilliantly, Sakhi. It never breaks my heart enough to see our pets suffer. The least we can do is be compassionate. For in our compassion, they find solace and the courage to be strong.
      Thank you for the welcome. I’m sure ill write more and often. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Kuljeet Saini says:

    Wow really a heart touching story… All along I kept thinking you were talking about a husband or boyfriend and when in the end u revealed it was ur pet I loved the twist..

    Your feelings for dollar shows your goodness also… I have never had a pet but I am close to a lot of people who do. The pet becomes a family member and is missed sorely after they are gone .. you are a very good story teller..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asha Seth says:

      Your words made my day, Kuljeet. I apologize for the late reply but am happy nonetheless to have found comfort in your words.
      I have always loved dogs, their innocence, ability to love us unconditionally, amazes me exponentially. What can I say? These are just few words, but when compared, are nothing, to what our furred friends do for us.
      I have always loved stories and making up some.:P I’m glad you liked it. Feel free to visit my blog for more.

      Like

  7. A lovely way of making this a day of love, reflection and remembrance. Greay, as always,Asha 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asha Seth says:

      Thank you, Pradipta. You’re so kind as always. It’s a pleasure to have you around. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same here Asha 😊

        Like

  8. NGonzalez65 says:

    Being a Momma to furry four legged children and having grown up with pets my whole life, I understand completely your feelings, your love, for Dollar.
    Such a beautiful tribute to Love. Thank you so much for sharing this. Welcome to the Candles family. 😊

    Like

    1. Asha Seth says:

      Thank you for the warm welcome. I too, like you, have grown up with pets, all my life. We are all an ardent animal-loving family. We’ve had rabbits, white mice, birds, dogs, for pets, at different times. I don’t shy from saying I love animals more than humans. And their welfare comes first for me.
      Thus this post.

      Like

Leave a Reply

