MEGA ARTICLES, Preeta Bhatnagar, Why Valentine's Day?

​WELL, WELL, VALENTINE’S 

Yesterday, I visited a mall and there was Valentine decor everywhere. Huge plush hearts were hanging from the ceiling all over. Gift shops displayed larger than life teddy bears (I wondered how would one carry it)! In one corner, there was a beautiful set up in all pinks and reds, with big letters LOVE on one side. There was a couple standing there and I could see the girl coaxing her guy to click a picture (for the WhatsApp and Facebook ritual), but the guy was feeling too embarrassed and wanted to move away from there. Another newly married couple was busy clicking selfies. I was appreciating the lovely ornamentation of the mall with my husband, while my 5 year old ran to that corner and asked us to capture his pose. We laughed at his innocence. 

Yes, it is that time of the year! My husband and I have never celebrated Valentine’s Day. No, not even when we used to date each other. We believe that love doesn’t need a specific day to be celebrated. Right? Rather, it should be celebrated all the year round, that is what every relationship requires.

valentine-day-215a

Come Valentine’s Day and the town (read shops) is painted red. I only knew about Valentine’s Day and was completely unaware of this, until recently, that the celebrations begin a week ahead and the days are named as:

8th February- Rose Day, 

9th February- Propose Day, 

10th February- Chocolate Day, 

11th February- Teddy Day, 

12th February- Hug Day

13th February- Kiss Day

And finally the 14th February – V day! Some calendars even have Promise Day!

The first time I saw the Valentine’s week calendar, I broke into laughter. I mean how creative can people get, inventing unique days. So basically, does that mean that these specific days need one particular day of the year? Is it like you can only hug your beloved on the Hug Day? Obviously not. What I feel is that these celebrations are purely a marketing weapon for various brands and there is no harm in it. Besides, it is only during this period, in which their sales shoot up like anything.

Valentine’s Day is an official ticket for the teenagers and college-goers to woo their adored. I am mentioning teenagers, because it is that period when the first crushes bloom and infatuations soar up high. I remember when I was in high school, we used to keep an eye on our classmates (essentially girls), whosoever had a rose, guessing which boy was behind the contribution and it was so much fun. Once you get older and wiser, you don’t believe in monetary gifts, but yearn for lifetime commitment and an ever- lasting relationship.

There’s no harm in celebrating V-Day, it utterly depends on your convenience. If you want to, go ahead, else, just enjoy the entertainment it brings in.  It’s a delight for your senses to see teddy bears, hearts and romantic gifts everywhere. Not to forget the exotic fragrance of delicate roses cuddled up in bunches. Ah! It is indeed a visual treat!

So, in case you are celebrating the Valentine’s Day, just thank martyr St. Valentine for giving you the day of love. For all those, like me, enjoy the Valentine atmosphere and for the rest, who are single, I would like to quote one of the jokes I came across on WhatsApp – Happy Independence Day! 

Leave a Reply

