Media & It's Effect, SNIPPETS

CHOOSE YOUR MEDIA…

I stopped reading the newspaper long time back. With the news full of scams, murders, rapes and corruption, it makes me feel helpless and resigned. “Nothing can change this country” – we say and get on with our daily routines. This feeling of resignation makes us blind. It makes us somebody who is only ready to blame and not take any responsibility. It makes us blame the authorities, government, neighbors, schools, colleges and youngsters – basically everybody other than the people living under our own houses.

It is very easy to sit at home, watch news the whole day and read newspaper which is anyways full of negativity and blame the government. It is not very easy to take up an issue that our society is struggling with today and make it a mission of your life. Fight it with all your might – like a soldier protecting his nation.

Few years back, when Aamir Khan (renowned Bollywood actor) premiered the show named – Satyamev Jayate, I was touched to the depths of my heart. The first episode was about female infanticide and feticide – a major problem in this country. I cried my heart out imagining how many girls are killed every day, either as an infant or in the womb.

Satyamev Jayate is not about the problems in our society, it is not about finger-pointing and blaming the authorities. It is about looking for a solution at the ground level. The way this team has got the heroes of this country in limelight, it gives a huge inspiration to each one of the viewers.

To believe in the fact that “change is possible”! Yes, there are burning issues but the solutions are also available. In a country of 1 billion people, even if 10% of us take up a cause and a mission to bring about a change, corrupt politicians will be weakened.

I don’t read the newspaper at all. I rather subscribe to Facebook pages of the organizations and individuals who have taken up the mission to bring about the change. They give me much more hope and motivation to continue my own mission. I am not interested in reading about scams, murders and rapes; I am more interested in reading about heroes of this country who never come into a limelight of media.

I was so surprised to know that somebody named “Kailash Satyarthi” from our own land won the Nobel Peace prize 2014. I had never heard of him, never knew what sort of a mission he had taken up till he was honored with Nobel Prize. Why our media never recognizes such heroes? How come a common person of India (like me) didn’t know about this great person and his work? And I am sure there are many more like him who is just working without seeking any selfish returns. Let us get those heroes to limelight.

What is it that you choose to read/watch – Inspiration or hopelessness??

10 thoughts on “CHOOSE YOUR MEDIA…”

  1. The need of this country is Inspiration and Patriotic mindset and it will come when we put the nation in our heart. I feel proud and thank Jesus that ‘I’ m an Indian’.
    Prabhjot it’s great to see you with the same heart. Love this article and the way you presented!

    Like

  2. Media can be a powerful agent of change, provided the right things are portrayed in the right way and the wrongs are justly dealt with. Well-written!

    Like

  3. I admire your courage, compassion and conscientiousness.

    I suggest you read the classics: Buddhist Sutras, Vedic Texts, Bible and so forth. If you want your nation to prosper, I would suggest you consider spending a part of your leisure time studying statecraft.

    I’ve recommended some profound classic texts I liked in particular in this post:

    https://purelandsutras.wordpress.com/2016/10/19/ancient-eastern-social-philosophy-statecraft/

    Like

Leave a Reply

