Funny Mistakes

LAUGHABLE ADAMANCY

Mistakes and errors occur on and off almost every day. However, thoughts about a funny mistake made by me took me down my memory lane straight to my Nursery class!

My school had organized a fancy dress competition for little children on the occasion of Children’s Day (observed on 14th November in India every year). I expressed my desire to participate and with my parent’s consent had submitted my name to my Class teacher.

My parents decided that I would dress up as an Indian princess. On the day of the event, I was dressed up by professionals in a glittery orange and gold attire, decked with jewelry and loaded with makeup – a perfect princess look!

Then came the catch!

I was adamant on wearing my school socks and shoes to go with the ‘princess outfit’! No amount of persuasion succeeded to change my mind. (Being a strict abider of school rules from that age I was convinced that the dress has to be fancy, but if I don’t go in school socks and shoes, I would be punished) So off I went to school dressed as a pretty princess, but with a pair of white socks and black buckled shoes clearly visible for all to see (I hope you can imagine the amusing spectacle)  

I must have looked pretty because all attention was on me. I don’t know what others would have thought of the combination of fancy dress and school uniform!!

When my name was called, I walked up to the stage gracefully. And everyone waited as to what I would perform or say. But, I simply stood there like a statue. Seconds flew by and my teachers kept prompting me to say something. No effect. (When my parents were thinking what to teach me to say, I had insisted that we are not to speak anything – it was only supposed to be a fancy DRESS competition) My Class teacher came on to the stage and mollycoddled me to speak something – at least to tell my name. Absolutely no effect!

After standing on the stage for a few minutes, I was asked to step down.

And, I gracefully stepped down with no regrets rising within me 🙂 

Of course, I didn’t win any prize for very obvious reasons!

All the teachers told my parents that I had a sure chance of winning a prize had a performed or said something. Thankfully, my parents didn’t scold me (they had all the right to, given the efforts they had put in).

Each time I go back to this episode, I laugh and at the same time, regret not listening to my parents and being so very sure of school rules (at three and a half years of age)!!

I have learned a lesson for life – Listen to the experienced and the wise. They are more than often right!

9 thoughts on “LAUGHABLE ADAMANCY”

  1. Listen to the experienced and the wise. They are more than often right!
    That is so very Right.
    I can imagine a girl wearing a princess costume and school socks and shoes. LOL !!
    But you were Adamant as a 3 year old tot. That’s admirable. ha ha ha ha.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Haha, I can relate to it so well as my daughter had done the same in her nursery. Theme was nursery rhymes. I had made such an elaborate costume so painstakingly. My little one went on stage and stood staring at all, inspite of all the practice done earlier. 😁😁
    But she looked such a cute spider. We all laugh at it now 😁😁 That’s the beauty of kids.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

