Aastha, MEGA ARTICLES, Return on Investment

INVESMENT AND RETURNS – WAY OF LIFE

When I receive calls from bank personnel talking about my investments and returns, it does excite me a bit to learn on the returns. It’s obvious.. This money is earned by my blood and sweat in a hard way and I want to make smart investments to get good returns.

Return on Investment (ROI) – is a strict finance term, which would be an equation on how we could arrive at a possible return based on various factors. I am not a very finance person, so I would stop here on defining ROI.

Return: this word really puts us on. Who doesn’t want a return ?? It’s all good as long as we are thinking of buying a house, doing a business or making an investment. In a way, human relationships have also become investments. Politics – huge investment. 

We start by making very small investments.. One of my colleague was saying few days ago, “Yaar, me and my wife have to rush to work in the morning. Feeding my son is the biggest problem, so, we play rhymes for him in the tablet, and he eats without making us run around “. I immediately expressed my concern that watching such high quality moving objects is not good for his eyes, and it may effect his eye sight. Guess what ? He knew it.

As a parent are you making your life better by making them suffer ?? by bribing ?

I hail from India, and do you know what is the huge investment ‘we as Indians’ in the history of India made ?? OURSELVES. Do you know what we got in return – we lost our freedom.

“Britishers conquered India” – As kids we were taught this as the first lesson of history. I always used to think about this in a different way.. There were other questions I needed answers for: 

  • Why did the British choose India? why not any other country ?
  • Was the choice very obvious, or they realised they hit a jackpot after they started trading with us ?
  • When we were being looted, why did’t we counter act ?

The history books have more answers, you can find them yourself. But for me it’s one simple sentence. “Indians cannot see the big picture” – yes, we don’t ..

Even today after 6 decades of having freedom we haven’t learnt any lessons,  not got smarter. If Britishers try to conquer us even today, they easily can.

Take Indian politics, they are the worst. There is corruption all around. Everyone is more concerned about what they get as a return on investment into politics than what India would get. I don’t know why it is so difficult to understand that no matter how much money I have, me being rich or poor depends on the Indian economy.

“The more I play with the economy, I am degrading the value of our Indian Rupee in the world economy” – I wish politicians understand this sooner. 

Next comes the media – I hate this term “paid media”. Some channels boost some candidates no matter how good or bad the candidate is. Politicians bribe them to keep their mouths  shut. Isn’t journalism meant to bring out the truth and make it evident to common man ? The true facts put in a right way to empower people ?

I cannot blame people too much here, we don’t have too much of choice. We are voting to choose the best out of the worst.When one tries to stand against the politics, there would be a sinusoidal wave of emotions among-st people, few support and few oppose and after sometime, the equilibrium is reached. Everything gets back to normal, nobody talks about it.

As I am writing I am getting more and more agitated from within. It gets tougher to stay calm when something needs a change, that has to be immediate, but nothing can be done. Everyday I find myself getting more and more helpless.

British adopted Indian culture into them in a beautiful way. ‘Chiken tikka masala‘ is their national dish and that makes me happy sometimes.. The nation that conquered us back then now has an acceptance of our culture and food.

It’s not fault of British or any other nation. There are too many differentiating factors among-st ourselves as humans that we are reaping. These differences are killing us from inside and there will surely be a day when we realize our mistake. We are investing in wrong things and we want returns. 

Returns that are not long standing. Returns that are not factually returns but are an illusion. We shall not be satisfied with immediate returns, we need to cultivate long standing relationships between us as nations and even within.

Invest smart, invest in making yourself more wise, take risks, learn from mistakes. Never degrade your self worth or choose not so good ways to get returns. 

Leave a Reply

