YOUR HOBBY IS LOOKING FOR YOU!

“Is there something in the world that you do not like to do?” asked one my colleagues after I had listed down my hobbies in front of him.

“Sports, I don’t like sports!” I proudly answered back.

This conversation happened like 8 years ago when I was a young adult with little responsibilities in life. When I could spend 3 hours in gym because I liked it and then go for dance class for a couple of hours – again because I liked it. Later I would come back home only to write something in my diary – also because I liked it. Once in a while I would take out my painting brush and start creating something on the sketch book and would end up spending the whole weekend on it.

Now, life is different. I have a baby and old in-laws to take care of. There are tons of household chores that never ever end. By the time I reach home from work – I just want to be with my son and do nothing else. I literally have to drag myself to gym because it is quite a necessity after pregnancy. I write for Candles but that is all I write now. I haven’t touched my painting brush in almost 5 years. And sometimes, it is extremely disappointing to live a life like this. Many a times, I do feel that I wish I had a few hours extra in a day just for myself. It is monotonous, boring and lethargic as hell.

Then the other day my son who is just 1.5 years old was invited to a neighbor’s kid’s birthday party. We came back with a return gift and since my son isn’t old enough to be excited with gifts – it was just kept in one corner of the house for a day. While cleaning up the room I remembered that I never bothered to even open and see the return gift. And when I opened it – I kept staring at it for a while with a different kind of enthusiasm in me.

It was a packet of crayons and water colors. As soon as I saw that I realized that there is going to be time in near future when my son would start holding the crayons and I would have to teach him how to color that apple or that balloon. I would also do those experiments with colors that we did when we were young – blow painting, block painting, T shirt painting, nib painting, pot painting etc. I was rejuvenated at the thought of reliving my hobby again right from scratch. It would be all the more fun because I would be teaching somebody (my son) all this from scratch. I love colors and I hope my son does too.

Later same evening, I saw an advertisement from one of the dance schools that invited admissions to teach Hip Hop to 5 year old kids. Then I imagined my little one teaching me those difficult moves of hip hop that I still haven’t been able to catch up.

Of course, I have a whole new world of opportunities and hobbies to discover through my son. What he would grow up to like – I would learn with him too. Maybe he would like to play football or cricket like my husband does – I would learn that too and play with him. Maybe he would be interested in playing a musical instrument – that would be a “WOW” for me because I will get to learn with him.

So what is your reason for not looking back at your hobbies?

You will always find your hobbies in your way if you really want to be happy and creative. Your hobbies might come to you as an opportunity, discovery or something else. Be open, be aware – your hobbies are always searching for you but if you choose to shut the door to them…. well you shut the door to happiness.

Leave a Reply

