Chiradeep Patra, Fear Factor, FINAL WORDS

KNOW YOUR FEAR AND GET RID OF IT

The week went well with the discussion on a very popular subject: “FEAR.” All of my co-writers have written exceptionally well on this subject. I just want to mention few important aspects of fear in this concluding article. 

As far as my knowledge is concerned most of the time our fears are based on falsehood, wrong thinking, imagined, irrational and abnormalities. We need to know that fear is a normal emotion designed by God which helps us to protect us from real danger. Because of fear we take proper action to protect ourselves or our family who are exposed to any danger. But living with a fear- based mentality or a fearful spirit is not from God because, “God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

Let me give you a small example from my life…

Gastritis is a funny disease. I suffer from it often and it usually triggers a fear within me when I feel my palpitations are rapid and fluctuating because of this funny disease. Being a cardiac patient fear triggers in me whenever I feel some weird sensations within or around my chest. But when I get to know the fact that the pain or sensation is due to gastritis my fear subsided.

“Know the truth and the truth will set you free.” That’s what the scripture confirms…

Truth is the most vital factor that helps us to eliminate irrational and abnormal fears. By knowing or understanding the fact or the truth of what’s really happening to me sets me free from the fear.

Then again a question arises why and how fear triggers within us…

Fear triggers in us when we feel a threat –

  1. To our safety and security: Fear of getting sick, loosing job, meeting an accident etc.
  2. To our identity and significance: Fear of demotion, failure, reputation getting spoilt etc.
  3. To our love and relationship: Fear of being rejected, not looking attractive, insecurity etc.

Things to remember: God ensures our safety and security. He is our creator and that’s the biggest identity we have and not a single person on earth is insignificant. Lastly, God is love and when we learn how to love from His loving acts towards us daily.    

While concluding I can quote June Hunt who writes in her book on the subject of Fear as:

“Examining your fear, its origin, its legitimacy, and its pattern can help you understand your fear and develop a strategy to resolve it.”

Close your eyes and pray to God like this: “Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting!”

Stay Blessed!!!

1 thought on “KNOW YOUR FEAR AND GET RID OF IT”

Leave a Reply

