SNIPPETS, Why discrimination?

LET THE CREATOR DECIDE

After reading my fellow blogger’s snippet on transgender discrimination, I decided to put in my two cents worth.

Where I work, there is a co worker who is transgender, going from man to a woman. I remember the first time I saw her, I thought she was a he because of the deep voice. I put it out of my mind and went about my day. As I was leaving, I ran into her at the time clock…literally, as I was texting my husband about what I needed to pick up at the store before I left. Now she is a little taller than me, about 5’5″ to 5’7″.  My shoulder hit her in the chest and I looked up, apologizing to her.

She seemed surprised that I was apologizing to begin with. I just stood there feeling my face turn red. Now I’ve been hit in the chest a time or two and it hurts! I watched as the emotions ran across her face quickly and then she smiled. 
“Don’t worry honey, they’re not real….yet.” I just gawked at her for a minute and then we both started to laugh. I told her I really was sorry, real or not, for hitting her in the chest. 

My reason for telling this story is to tell you all what happened the next day. I was coming into work when I saw her outside smoking a cigarette and talking on the phone. Some older man walked by and heard her. I don’t know what set him off but he started yelling and screaming at her about being a freak. Me being the person I am walked over there and just stared the old man down. I could see she was upset. I took her hand into mine and just glared at the man then turned my back, my nose up in the air and told her…”You keep your head up girl, don’t let someone like THAT bring you down!” I looked back at him and told him perhaps he would be happier shopping somewhere else as we hired ALL kinds of people… WE don’t discriminate. 

When we got to our break room she just hugged me and I could see tears in her eyes. I told her not to cry or she would ruin her mascara…that got her to laughing and we clocked in to start our day. 

We, as human beings, really have no right to judge others or discriminate against them. We are far from perfect ourselves.

God loved the world and her people so much that He sent His only Son to be a sacrifice and WHOEVER believes in Him would not perish but have everlasting life. 

(Picture Source: HERE)

1 thought on “LET THE CREATOR DECIDE”

Leave a Reply

