Resolving Conflicts, SNIPPETS

SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO COMPROMISE

Sometimes a compromise has to be made to avoid or end a conflict quickly. 

My husband and I have been married for 27 years now and you can bet there have been conflicts that have arisen over the years. Before, I use to remain quiet and not argue. But, as I get older, I realized that sometimes the hubby is not always right.

We had made plans to go out with some friends for dinner and then maybe a movie afterwards. My parents were watching our daughters that night as they were still young. Deciding on where to eat was no problem as we all loved the Olive Garden, a well known Italian restaurant here in the USA. BUT…when it came time to decide on a movie there was a definite problem. 

The men wanted to go see an action movie with a lot of explosions and people getting shot at. My friend and I wanted to see something a bit more romantic. As we stood there looking at the marquee to see what was playing, the argument got a bit more heated. I could see this was not going to end as a happy night for any of us. I placed my arm on my friends arm and whispered to her, jokingly. “Wanna be my movie date?” She started to laugh and the guys just looked at us like we were nuts. I looked at the guys and smiled. 

“Tell you what, why don’t you boys go and watch that action movie and the two of us gals will go and see the movie we want. They both end at the same time.” 

They kind of grumbled but finally agreed. As it turned out the theaters were across from each other. We parted ways at the doors. My friend and I told our husbands to “behave themselves” for which we both got identical mock scowls. I looked at her and she looked at me and we busted out laughing again. Linking our arms, we deliberately added a little wiggle to our hips as we headed into our movie, still giggling.

A compromise was made and our good moods restored.

Author’s Bio: N.Gonzalez lives in the USA, married for 27 years with two grown children. Have been working for retail grocery for last 17 years. Writing is something enjoyed in free time.

Leave a Reply

