Pure Hands & Steady Steps, SNIPPETS

PURITY OF A CHILD’S HANDS

Hands are pure when the heart is pure; heart is pure when thoughts are pure.

There is a famous story of thief and his mother –

A thief once gets caught while stealing and is put behind the bars. His mother comes to meet him and he asks his mother “Why did you do this to me?” Mother shocked asks, “What did I do?” The thief says, “When I was a little boy in school and I used to get those fancy pencils and tiffin boxes from school, why did you never ask me where those came from? Why did you never question the stuff that I had? I continued to steal from school, then from people travelling in public transport and I never made any attempts to hide what I stole from people, yet you never questioned me or scolded me. Why?

Mother had no answer. Whatever her reason was for not stopping her child from stealing, it led to the destruction of the child’s life.  He grew up believing that it is ok to steal. He believed that his mother approved of what he did and he got all the more motivated to steal.

That is how children are. Whether a child has pure hands or impure hands depends on the parents to a large extent. And so as adults, it becomes even larger responsibility to express the purity of our thoughts and hands; to show our children that we have steady feet and that is the only way to live.

I often hear stories where father asks the child to lie for him to neighbors or mothers or somebody else. How horrible is that? Just for a very short term benefit of lying, they end up teaching the children a very wrong value which is to lie. And lying is an impure thought which leads to an impure action.

So, watch your thoughts and watch your actions. Your children will be your reflection when they grow up.

1 thought on “PURITY OF A CHILD’S HANDS”

Leave a Reply

