Love view of the Significant Other, SNIPPETS

GOD IS IN THE BUSINESS OF DOING AMAZING THINGS

My wife Khristina and I, must look like quite the odd couple to most people.

She’s a beautiful woman with North-east Indian features, born and raised in Kolkata, bubbly, friendly and fun. I’m this reasonable looking, shy, quiet and boring South Indian guy, born and raised in Mumbai. Not the usual combination you would expect to turn into a couple. But then, our God is in the business of doing amazing things.

Our love story had all the makings of a block-buster, pop-corny 80’s Hindi movie.

It started like most young love stories do, with the movie dates, the long walks and bike rides, candle-light dinners, long conversations into the night.

Then one day, we decided it was time to take our love to the next level… we decided that we want to marry each other. Now a new set of interesting characters were about to enter the plot … the parents!

The prospect of a non-Malayali daughter-in-law did not go down well with my parents. And thus began my year-and-a-half long saga, filled with drama, action and heart-break. My repeated attempts to convince them kept hitting a dead-end. At one gruelling point, Khristina and I were almost on the verge of giving up and going our separate ways. But then, our God is in the business of doing amazing things.

We finally got married, with the blessings of both our parents. Khristina gets along fabulously with my family and they all love her. My mom has become an addict of ‘Calcutta-style Chicken Biryani’ and loves Bengali food.

I firmly believe that God brought Khristina and me, together as a couple, for a reason. She completes me, filling the voids of my personality. Her strengths help compensate for my weaknesses. But I also believe that Gods purpose of bringing us together was to fulfill His plans for many other families, including my own.

I am thankful to God for choosing the perfect life-partner for me, who I will cherish and love forever. He is truly in the business of doing amazing things.

O LORD, You are my God; I will exalt You, I will give thanks to Your name; For You have worked wonders, Plans formed long ago, with perfect faithfulness.

– Isaiah 25:1

Rohan Jacob 

3 thoughts on “GOD IS IN THE BUSINESS OF DOING AMAZING THINGS”

Leave a Reply

