HOW REJECTION CAN BENEFIT YOU?

When we talk of rejection, the approach is always negative. 

Rejection is more often than not equated with sorrow, loneliness, struggle, pain, depression, and even revenge.

But what if we can take rejection, and use it for our benefit? Yes, there will be hurt, there will be pain; but that is only temporary.

Consider this.

I was fresh out of college, a graduate, and was desperate to get a great Master’s degree; I had studied in prestigious institutions prior to this, so of course I wanted to get into the best PG college too. 

I set my eyes on one of the best. Let’s not take any names here, but I can tell you it is in Chennai. I attempted the written test, got through and was called for a group discussion and personal interview. I was ecstatic. In Chennai, it all went well, and I was sure I would get through.

I didn’t.

I was crushed. In fact, ‘crushed’ does not even begin to explain what I felt. It was like my life had fallen apart. You see, rejection does that to you, it makes you feel SO small, that you wonder if your life is important at all? 

But I did something that I always do; I prayed. I asked God for forgiveness for forcing things to go ‘my way’. And my heart began to heal. 

I got through another institution in Pune city, and studied with some of the most intelligent minds there. My Director was an encourager and a motivator. All in all, it was one of the best times of my life.

But, do you want to know the icing on the cake?

After more than 10 years of work experience, my very colleagues are graduates from the Chennai institution! We all landed up in the same organisation! 

So folks, mourn your rejection, whatever it may be, but don’t let it rule your life. Who knows, you have something even better coming your way?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Love this!! I just had a job offer be taken back from me, and I was so pessimistic at first… but now I truly am loving it. It has given me way more motivation to go out there and make a name for myself doing something I love- cooking and blogging! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting and commenting on one of our best writers’ write up…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. KhristinaJ says:

    Thank you guys! I always believe it is a matter of perspective! Everything is. Buckle down, or rise up, it is up to you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

