Dreams & Aspirations, SNIPPETS

DO YOU KNOW YOUR DREAMS?

Dream is something that keeps you awake. Dream is that spark inside every person that we call Passion; it is something that keeps us alive and makes a meaning out of our lives. Without dreams there would be no difference between humans and animals.

doubt-623847_1280It is true that most of us do not get a chance or opportunity to live our dreams, but the bigger problem is that many of us do not even know what is it that they are really passionate about? Do you know what is it that you are really passionate about?

I remember when I was 24, I joined an NGO that was working on creating awareness on Child Sexual Abuse. I did a course with them that certified me as a Sex Education Counsellor. While talking to my coach in the course, I told her that I am deeply worried because I am 24 and I don’t think I love my job and I have no clue what exactly do I want to do in my life. And she gave me a reply that I am going to remember forever. She said, “Don’t worry, I am 49 and I still don’t what exactly I want to do in my life. Life is a journey and you will continue to discover new things in life that will excite you. You will continue to weave new dreams for yourself. Till you are in that exploration mode, you will continue to grow. So, don’t worry about what is it you want to do in life. Do whatever makes you feel good and you will create new and bigger dreams each day.”

I continued to work with that NGO for a couple of years and had tremendous learnings. But the most important of them was that our dreams are always evolving and growing. Do not restrict yourself to the dreams that you saw as a child. Yes, start with them and continue to explore what more the world has to offer you. There is no end or limitations to the amount of the opportunities available today.

I love writing and so I did some freelance writing work for a year or so, but it did not make me feel fulfilling. Yes, I was writing but I was writing stuff that was not inspirational. That is when I realized that my interest for writing stems from my interest in counselling people and in inspiring them. I realized that I would like to do that instead of write for some business and earn money out of it. That is when I started blogging and sometime earlier joined Candles Online because the vision of Candles really called out to me.

human-767000_1280There are cases when you discover your passion from the darkest of your time. When you face failures and struggle in life, you see something that you would want to pursue throughout your life and it becomes your passion. So, don’t limit your dreams to just your hobbies. Go full out and play them; you never know which passion of yours will be staring at you in your face. Grab every opportunity available, do not worry about time; you will always make time for your dreams.

I invite you to think right now – what is it that I am/was passionate about? If you can think of at least 2-5 things, you are still in touch with your dreams. If you can’t, then my friend, it is high time to take a break from life and think of your dreams. If you say that you are already living your dream, then I would invite you to think further and beyond of what you have achieved; think of the next goal, next vision and next dream.

Just take one little step towards your passion and you will be surprised how life will throw bundle of opportunities your way.

Prabhjot

Leave a Reply

